Skip to main content
ExLibris
  • Subscribe by RSS
  • ExLibris Dev

    Centrally Managing Configuration Tables in a Network Zone

    Translatable
    The roles that allow you to perform configurations for the various functional areas can access this feature.
    You can manage configuration tables in the Network Zone and distribute them to member institutions. For some tables you manage and distribute the table; for other tables, you manage and distribute rows within the table.
    • By default, local changes are not overwritten by the Network Zone. A member institution can "configure" a table or row (even without making any changes) to prevent the table or row from being overwritten. Clicking Restore in the member institution allows the Network Zone to distribute changes to the institution again. Restore in this case briefly restores the original (out-of-the-box) value, but this value is overwritten by the most recent Network Zone configured value the next time the distribution job runs.
    • When managing and distributing an entire table, the Network Zone administrator can configure that changes made in the network zone overwrite local changes.
    • If the Network Zone administrator turns off the distribution job, configuration tables on the member institutions are not restored to their out-of-the-box values.
    The Distribute Network Zone configuration table changes to member institutions job distributes changes made to the Network Zone to the member institutions; see Viewing Completed Jobs.
    Currently this functionality is only available for select configuration tables.
    The workflow is different depending on whether the configuration table is one that is configured at the table level or the row level.
    To centrally manage configuration tables configured at the row level:
    1. In the Network Zone, select a configuration table that is configured at the row level.
    2. Select Customize > Actions > Manage in Network for the row that you want to manage in the Network Zone.
      Row Configuration Table
      A green check mark appears in the Managed in Network column of the row, indicating that the row is managed by the Network Zone.
      Managed in Network
    3. Perform any customizations that you want to distribute to member institutions.
    4. Click Save to save the configuration changes without distributing them to member institutions or click Save and Distribute and Confirm in the confirmation dialog box to save the configuration changes and immediately run the distribution job.
      The configuration changes are distributed to the member institutions when the distribution job runs. After the job runs, the Updated By column in the table has the value Network.
    5. To stop centralized management of this table row, click Stop Network Management for the row, and then click Save and Distribute and Confirm in the confirmation dialog box.
      Stop Network Management
      Configuration changes performed in the Network Zone are no longer distributed to member institutions.
    To centrally manage configuration tables configured at the table level:
    1. From the Network Zone, select a configuration table that is configured at the table level.
      Table Configuration
    2. Click Manage Table in Network.
      The value for the Managed in Network field for the table changes to Yes and the Stop Network Management link and Save and Distribute button appear.
      Managed in Network
    3. Perform any customizations that you want to distribute to the member institutions.
    4. Click Save to save your changes without distributing them to member institutions or click Save and Distribute to save the configuration changes and distribute them. If you click Save and Distribute, a confirmation dialog box appears.
      Distribute Table to Network Members Confirmation Dialog Box
      1. In Distribution Mode, optionally select Override Member Institution Customization to overwrite any local changes on member institutions.
      2. Click Confirm to run the distribution job.
      The configuration changes are distributed to the member institutions when the distribution job runs. After the job runs, the value for Managed in Network changes to Yes and the value in the Updated By column changes to Network in the member institutions.
    5. To stop centralized management of this table, click Stop Network Management, and then click Save and Distribute and Confirm in the confirmation dialog box:
      Stop Network Management
      Configuration changes performed in the Network Zone are no longer distributed to member institutions.
    For a video on Centralized Management of Configuration Tables, see the Centralized Management of Configuration Tables video.
    --> //doorbell.io feedback widged