Skip to main content
ExLibris
  • Subscribe by RSS
  • ExLibris Dev

    Purging Users

    Translatable
    You can purge users whose purge date has passed. To purge users, you create a job in which you define the purge parameters. When you save the job, it is added to the job queue and scheduled to run as soon as possible. 
    The purge users job validates the following:
    • The user has fine/fees up to the threshold amount
    • The user has no loans
    • The user has no assigned PO lines, POs, or invoices
    • The user does not have any locked bibliographic records
    • The user is not assigned to an import file
    Users that meet all of the above criteria are purged.
    Purged users are still reportable in Analytics.
    The purge job may be run in one of 3 modes:
    • Keep Fully Reportable — The user’s status is deleted, all requests are canceled, and the identifying string is deactivated. The rest of the user’s data is retained in the system. 
    • Keep Statistics — Only the user’s statistical data is retained. The data is deleted on all tabs on the User Details page except for the Statistics tab and other non-identifying statistical data, such as the user group and job category. 
    • Fully Remove — Removes all user data upon deletion, including statistical data. 

    Purge mode configuration can be found at Administration > User Management Configuration > Configuration Menu > General > Delete User Policy.

    For more information on anonymization, see Configuring Anonymization.

    To create a purge users job:
    1. On the Purge User Records page (Administration > User Management > Purge User Records), click Add Job. The Add Job dialog box opens.
      Add Job Dialog Box
    2. Enter the required information. The following table explains the fields in this dialog box.
      Add Job Fields
      Field
      Description
      Number of days after purge date The number of days to be provided as a “grace period” following the Purge date specified on the User Details page. For example, if the purge users job is run on December 20, 2013 and the Number of days after purge date is defined as 10, the system purges every user whose purge date is before December 10, 2013.
      If this field is empty, the system purges users whose purge date is before date on which the purge users job is run. For example, if the Purge date for a user is December 10, 2013 and the job is run on December 20, 2013, this user will be purged.
      Users with no specified purge date are not purged by this job.
      User record type From the predefined drop-down list, select the user record type of the users you want purged. For more information on user record types, see the Find and Manage Users Page - Column Descriptions table in Managing Users. If ALL is selected from this drop-down, the User Group drop-down should be left as is.
      User group From the predefined drop-down list, select the user group (institution) of the users you want purged.
      Waive threshold The amount of fines and fees (in local currency) that can be ignored when purging users. If a user owes a total amount of fines/fees that is more than the Waive threshold, the user is not purged.
    3. Click one of the following:
      • Add (and Confirm in the confirmation dialog box) to add the job to the job queue and add additional jobs.
      • Add and Close (and Confirm in the confirmation dialog box) to add the job to the job queue and close the Add Job dialog box.